Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

on January 12, 2015

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season!!

This year our family embraced the reason for the season!  Instead of spending a ton of money and allowing greed to run our Holiday we had a semi Homemade Christmas.  I say semi homemade because although a lot of our gifts were homemade I still shopped a bit.  It’s the habit I think and really greed that drives us to spend spend spend on Christmas!  I don’t mean the greed like Scrooge in the Christmas carol, or even the give me gifts greed either although there are some like that, what I mean is the greed to HAVE to spend so much thinking it’s the only way to have a good Christmas.  Anyway here is some of what we did to get the most out of the season and the real meaning of it.

First we prayed, a lot!

Then we scoured the internet for ideas!

Here are a couple of things we did!

My daughter and I found these really cool mini crossbows made from Popsicle sticks and barrettes!  so we downloaded the instructions and made one for everyone. We even made ammo and custom colored each one.

You can find the video here. However the instructions are not free anymore but I believe they are under $5 and well worth it!  So much fun!

My daughter is a home schooled senior and this year I decided to do a woodshop class.  So for her first big project she made a beautiful pine cabinet for my husband.

linked here, we altered the design a bit because some of the instructions seemed off and we used pine from the oops wood at our local lumber yard, so we had to change the doors a bit.

Using a dremel she etched a tree into the each side.

Using a dremel she etched a tree into the each side.

grill cab1

While shopping for materials in our local craft store we came across this batman light for nearly $200! Both my kids loved it, but $200 yeah right!!!

My gears began running and I built them lights for just $2.50 each! That included tissue paper, paint, the light, and the frame. I had the wood.

a

 

I also made several crocheted items I will share later 🙂  A couple of cute sock monkeys, and for some Holiday entertainment an elf on the shelf was crocheted and named Larry, he made his first appearance Dec. 1st. 🙂

We made a gingerbread house from scratch, that was a fun family night!

What did you do to make your Holiday special?

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place To Learn and Grow

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

