Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Bedroom Re-Design Vol. 1

on August 29, 2014

Hello!!  My it has been quite some time since I have posted.  I apologize for my neglect and being totally MIA for so long.  I have been going through many life changes and self discovery.  That has all come with so many ups and downs.  Anyway, enough of that stuff.

Lets move on to what I’ve been up to in my many months MIA.

We’ve been doing lots of remodeling (on the cheap), finding ways to give the place a face lift that wont break the bank.  We started in our kids rooms.

In this Volume I’m going to share with you what we did to customize our daughters room.  She did most of the designing with much advise from me 😉  but most of it she made the choices.

So here are some before pictures.  You can see we had to remove trim that had been up for about 12 or more years.  That was a task!  I will suggest having a bottle of warm soapy water to spray while removing such old trim.  IF it was stick on, meaning the glue was on it already and you only needed to dip in water to apply.  If it was done with wallpaper paste… well good luck 😉

IMG_1332 IMG_1333 IMG_1334 IMG_1335 IMG_1336 IMG_1338

The room was painted a creamy coffee color.  That just wouldn’t do.

To start we purchased a bed set for her, she wanted a new one for her birthday.  She gave me colors she’d like and I went from there.  I chose at Walmart a bed in a bag set.  It came with sheets, pillow case, pillow sham, comforter, and bed skirt.  Because she wanted purple and this set was only black and white I purchased a purple sheet set also.  Because the bed in the bag was so inexpensive I was able to stay in budget with adding the sheet set.  Also it gave her many options on styling her bed.  We also got a large fuzzy purple pillow.  She’s a pillowhaulic always has been 🙂

So I began scouring the interwebs for bedroom designs in purple and black (her colors) to get some inspiration.  We found a few we liked and grabbed ideas from several images.

Here is her vision.

IMG_1403

Above:  In a future post I will share how I made this custom chandelier.

IMG_1404

over her bed “Always Kiss Me Goodnight”

IMG_1405

These curtains we found at our local family dollar for $12 each panel.  The are single rod silk swirl design drape and valance with lace drape in the back.

IMG_1406

🙂  Just an owl wall sticker

IMG_1407

She decided to paint the closet and entry door with chalk board paint so her and her friends could write little notes.  For the handles we purchased a key and  keyhole knobs from Hobby Lobby on sale 50% off.  We painted them purple.

IMG_1408

This is her focal wall it is sprayed with purple and silver glitter over the purple paint.  Really hard to see it in the photo, but it’s there. 🙂  That was a bit pricey but I later found out it would have been cheaper if I had purchased the paint from walmart instead of Hobby Lobby :S Lesson learned.

IMG_1409

The trim in the room was painted with a semi gloss black.

IMG_1410

IMG_1413

The bed set with the purple sheets.

Over all the cost to do this including the bedset was under $175.00

Well worth it!

Stay tuned for Vol. 2 🙂

Till then Keep it Crafty!

5 responses to “Bedroom Re-Design Vol. 1

  1. Hi, this may sound a bit odd, especially since your post is so old. I have a strange question; would you be willing to sell the black curtain w/valance set shown here? I bought one years ago from Family Dollar, which worked great for my apartment since I only had one window in my bedroom.

    Now, however, my fiancee and I are redoing our house and our bedroom has two windows. I adore this curtain set–for the design on the fabric, the darkening effect, and because the valance and panels are all one piece (which allows me to use a 2-bracket curtain rod and hang a sheer in a different color behind it). This is a horrible picture, but just to show you that I do actually own the curtain and this is a serious offer: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=299088966911655&l=042d7395e6

    Family Dollar no longer sells it and I have been all over the ‘net (including the 20+ pages of “black curtains with valance” search on both eBay and Amazon). You literally have the only one I have found, other than mine…. And honestly, I haven’t found anything I liked as a possible replacement for the set.

    Like I said, I know it’s a strange question, and I have no doubt it might inconvenience you, so I would be willing to pay whatever price you set plus shipping via PayPal. I would be forever in your debt, and my fiancee would thank you because I could finally stop complaining about it. (It’s been four days steadily now! lol!)

    Thank you very much for your time and consideration of this. Merry Christmas and happy holidays.

  2. […] I mentioned being MIA in Bedroom Re-Design Vol. 1.  I was busy this summer.  Both of my kids got room […]

  3. […] promised in Bedroom Re-Design Vol. 1 I am sharing how I made this custom […]

  4. amy says:

    Very cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

Sew for dough

Teaching you to sew for fun or profit

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

