Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Scones… Take 1

on November 6, 2013

Lets talk Scones.. What are they?

My first Take on Scones.

A scone is a quick bread.  It is sometimes referred to as a biscuit.  However biscuits use animal fat as apposed to butter which is traditionally used in scones.  Scones can be either sweet or savory.  They are often enjoyed with tea.

Today I’ve been ordered by the doctor to take it easy and rest.  I have been having some hip pain and yesterday it was so severe I cried. 😦  So today I went to see my doctor and found out it is my sciatic nerve.  So I was ordered to rest, take it easy, and take some meds for a week.  So what better way to relax (besides crafting or sewing something ;)) than to bake! 😀 yeah!  My husband has been on this scone kick, a little joke between him and a friend.  Well all the scone talk has gotten me curious! I’ve always seen them never tried them.  Today I decided.. “I am going to bake some scones” 🙂  I figured since I’m a first timer at this I’d Google “easy scone recipe” several popped up and I briefly looked over a couple recipes and decided I’d try the one with the least ingredients.  I don’t know if that was a good thing or not.

So here is what this recipe called for:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut up
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar (use 1/3 for slightly sweeter scones)
  • 2/3 cup milk
See the entire recipe at food.com
Now after I have made the scones I look more into them.  I find that traditionally the basic scone recipe is:
  • 225g/2 cups self raising flour
  • 55g/½ stick cold butter
  • 1 level tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 150 ml/¼ pint milk
  • 1 egg beaten

Notice how it calls for an egg?

From your basic scone ingredients you can add some add ins like cheese, dates, raisins, etc.  by simply adding any dry ingredients to the dry mix and wet when adding in the wet mix.

Well on to my scones…

So I followed the recipe at food.com and found several problems:

For starters I ended up over working the dough because of 2 reasons.  1. the recipe says to form the dough into a ball and flatten into a six inch circle, then goes on to say cut each six inch circle into 6-8 wedges… ok, no where did it say to separate the dough into 2 balls and roll into 2 six inch circles… so I had to make 2 circles.  2. the recipe says you can work in the butter with your hands… not a good idea unless you just came in from the freezing cold and your hands are freezing cold.

I wanted lime scones so I added lime zest and lime juice to my wet ingredients.

I get my dough cut into wedges placed on the baking sheet and put in a preheated 425F oven for 12 minutes.

I end up with a heavy burned on the bottom scone! 😛

What did I do wrong!?

First I think the recipe called for too much flour!  My scones had an uncooked flour taste.  Also I think 425F was just too hot! My scones burned in 12 mins and weren’t very golden on top.  They also did not rise.  I believe this is because the dough was too warm and over worked.

So next time I am going to make sure all my tools are cold including the baking sheet and bowls!  Also I’m going to place the dough in the freezer for 30 min. to help it rise when it’s cooked and be flakier!

Stick around for my Take 2 🙂

3 responses to “Scones… Take 1

  1. amy says:

    Way to go for trying! I’m interested to see how you like take 2! 😉

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place To Learn and Grow

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

