Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Repurpose an Old Furry Coat Vol. 1 Furry Leg Warmers

on November 1, 2013

Furry Leg Warmers

Whew Halloween is over…. Wait that means its only 55 days till Christmas!

Before we start really thinking about that…

My daughter has this furry black hat with red devil horns on it.  This year she decided she wanted to be a devil girl for Halloween.  We love making our own costumes… they are much nicer than most store bought.  I remember a few of my old costumes from when I was a kid… There was the witch… it was by far my favorite!  The only thing I had store bought for that was the hat and the broom.  We had found a long black skirt turtle neck and this awesome black cape! it was satin with  silver stars on the trim all the way around the cape.  My mom had these really cool vintage owl necklaces which added that last touch I needed to make it perfect!  When I got older I had put together a punk rock costume out of 80’s clothes I found at a thrift shop.  Now I love making costumes. My fave is a couple years ago my husband and I were alice and the hatter from Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.

Alice in the Um Dress and the Mad Hatter. I created my costume from scratch. I had to order the white material and I painstakingly added the black stripes and hearts to it. My husbands costume was a mix between homemade repurposed and altered thrift store finds. The top hat was made from scratch along with the hat pins. I even made the arsenal of thread from scratch.

Last year I was an Umbrella Corp. Chief Scientist in the Bio Organic Weapons Dept.

I found the skirt and shoes at a thrift store. My husband was working in a hospital and salvaged the coat and I made the name badge and used iron on transfer paper and printed out the umbrella symbol.

So anyway, My daughter needed some leg warmers to complete her costume.  I had this old vintage furry coat in the closet not being used and I thought I could use this for those leg warmers :).  Now you may be wondering what the Vol. 1 is all about.  Well I will be making more stuff with the remains of the coat. For now here’s how to make the warmers.

What you will need:

Furry Coat

Seam Ripper

Needle

Thick thread in the same color as the fur

Scissors

Measuring Tape

Jump rings

Ribbon

elastic

Step 1  turn the coat inside out and remove the lining from around the sleeve.  Next detach the sleeves using the seam ripper.

Next you want to remove the rest of the lining from the sleeve by cutting it off around the bottom of the sleeve leaving enough to tuck under and slip stitch in place.

Lay the sleeve flat with the bottom seam up and cut even across, as seen in photo below.

cut across where the scissors in the photo are.

Measure your leg or the leg you are making this for from the bottom of the knee down to the ankle. In my case it was 15 inches.  fold down the top of the sleeve to so it measures all the way around the measurement you came up with.

Next take the elastic and put it under the fold leaving the ends hang out.

Over stitch around the fold taking care not to go through too much of the sleeve.

when you get almost all the way around tie the elastic making it so it tightens a little. you dont want it to cut off circulation. Then finish stitching.

Next take your jump rings out and decide how many to use.  I chose to use 5, placing them 2″ apart.

Find the seam and lay the sleeve flat with the seam up.

Line the jump rings on either side of the seam. This will help you decide how many to use.

Sew the jump rings in place.  I looped around them twice and tied them really tight.

Last step..

Thread the ribbon through the rings.

and enjoy!

the kitty loves them too! 🙂

Until next time Keep it Crafty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place to Learn

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

