Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Regrow Food at Home

on June 27, 2013

I’ve always had a green thumb as long as I can remember.  I think it was a trait passed down from my Grandmother cause my Mother also has a green thumb.  Something about growing plants.  🙂  I have always been interested in growing seeds from produce I buy at the store.  I have had a lemon tree growing in a pot for 12 years now, that I started from a seed I saved from a lemon.  1 more year and it will start to bear fruit.  Lemon trees take 13 years to mature.  I recently found out to trick them into thinking they are older to bear fruit much sooner you can prune a stem from an old lemon tree and root it.  I think that may be one of my next projects!  Anyway, that is just one thing you can regrow at home.  Today I’m going to be talking about my latest veggie I decided to give a go at regrowing and so far it’s coming along very well!

Celery!

Yes, you can regrow celery you bought at the store!  Here is how..

photo ©Stacey Austin Seamingly Crafty

Start out with a head of celery.  Cut off the stalks close to the bottom leaving about an inch or two.  Set your stalks aside, we are going to fix those up later in this post.

photo ©Stacey Austin Seamingly Crafty

you will end up with this.

The bottom of the celery head is where the roots will grow from.  Your celery head may have a few small roots already growing from it.

photo ©Stacey Austin Seamingly Crafty

Don’t be discouraged if it doesn’t.  As you can see mine didn’t and was cut really close to the stalks.

Next you can choose to plant your celery out in your garden or you can start it in water in a shallow dish inside or in a pot inside if you wish to grow it over the cold months.  I chose to plant mine in the garden.  When planting in soil plant it down just enough for the nubs of the stalks to sit even with the soil or just under.  In my photo below mine where even but with watering and rain they got covered.  Be sure to water your celery after planting it and be sure to keep the soil moist.  After the roots take well you won’t have to worry so much about the soil staying so moist.

photo ©Stacey Austin Seamingly Crafty

Here is my celery about a week after planting it.  (don’t mind the mess, we were in the process of cleaning up after a storm)

When preparing your celery for regrowing, you can also choose to snap off the stalks leaving only the center most hearts of the celery and plant that.  This will grow your stalks much faster.  🙂  This process I am going to try indoors over the colder months.

So whichever way you choose to regrow your celery enjoy! and please share your experience with me!! 🙂

Now lets talk stalks.

Cut off the tops of the stalks and recycle in compost or use for stock or to feed your bunny 😉   The leaves can be used in salads and can also be dried and used for seasoning.  Clean the stalks well.  I use my potato brush to scrub them.  Store them in a Ziploc bag until ready to use.  OR  If you notice your celery getting limp, simply place them in a container with water stored in the fridge.  They will crisp up in a few hours or less.   I use bottled or filtered water for this.

DID YOU KNOW…

Celery is known as a “negative calorie food”  This is the idea that your body will burn more calories digesting the food than it will extract from the food.  YES! score! 🙂

Celery is also a good alternative to smoking… I know this from personal experience and experiences shared with me by others.  When trying to quit smoking carry around some celery in a small bag.  Whenever you feel the urge to smoke chew on some celery.  🙂  It worked for me.

There are many other foods you can grow from your fridge and pantry.  Coming soon I’ll talk about potatoes and pineapple 🙂

 

In the meantime remember my last post about my sweet peas?  Here is an updated photo.  My how they’ve grown in just 7 days!

photo ©Stacey Austin Seamingly Crafty

 

Until next time… Keep it Crafty! 😉

 

 

3 responses to “Regrow Food at Home

  1. awesome! Please share with me when you do! 🙂 Can’t wait to see/hear how it goes!

  2. amy says:

    I’m totally trying the celery soon! I heard you can do it with romaine too, I’ll be giving that a whirl also!

  3. Jessica Luther says:

    I am definitely going to try this Stacey! I love gardening as well and am always trying new things. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place to Learn

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

