Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Light Lime Slaw

on April 16, 2013

Photo ©Stacey Austin

Here in the Chicagoland area we have had our annual few warm days in early spring.  I do love these days I only wish they’d stay longer.  As I type there are ice balls bouncing off of our picnic table in the backyard.  Sigh.  Well during those couple of warm days I got to feeling like I’m coming out of the winter hibernation finally and felt like having a nice light dinner.  In our home we are big fans of the show Chopped.  I think this is because ever since being a young girl I remember experimenting with food.  My very first food I cooked, aside from toast, was french fries.  I remember going through my Moms seasonings and shaking random seasonings into the hot oil with the fries.  This was exciting for me.  My Sister and I were being babysat by my Aunt so I felt lucky being able to cook with very little help. While her and my sister did their hair and make up I cooked.   The fries turned out great from what I remember.  Ever since then I have enjoyed crafting food. 😉  Well lets get back to this light dinner mood I was in..  Winter is full of oven cooking, hearty meals and comfort foods and to me summer is all about light meals and BBQ’s.  So I decided to make mini tacos.  I wanted something different tho.  I wanted a summery twist.  So I went in the fridge and pulled out the cabbage, and limes  and thought hmm, I can turn this into something awesome.

Light Lime Slaw

Ingredients:

2 cups shredded cabbage
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

2 limes

½ tsp sesame seeds

½ tsp celery salt

pinch of red pepper flakes

pinch of cracked pepper

In a large bowl whisk together the olive oil, juice from the limes, celery salt, pepper flakes and cracked pepper.  While this sits for a few allowing the juices to absorb flavor from the seasoning toast the sesame seeds.  The more you toast the nuttier the flavor.  For this slaw I like them very lightly toasted.  You can also choose to leave the seeds out.  Once toasted add them to the dressing and whisk.  Add the cabbage to the bowl and using tongs toss until well coated.

I made this to top our mini tacos.  It can be added atop baked chicken breasts or even fish.  🙂

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place to Learn

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

