Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

DIY Address Book & Freebie

on March 26, 2013

I believe I made a promise to upload a freebie! 🙂

I finally got it done and all worked out!

This is a Tutorial and freebie in one.  I had been shopping for a new address book for some time now.  I didn’t like what I found for the price that was on it!  So my imagination gears were spinning and I came up with a way to make my own address book.  Not only is it cheaper for what I want but it is also customizable to my liking and can be made customizable to your liking as well!  I was annoyed by my old address book because of a few reasons.  1. There wasn’t a section for websites.  I started forgetting my passwords and such cause of so many so for my address book there is a section just for websites!  Of course you can leave this section out or make a separate book for that. 🙂 2. I have like a bazzillion A’s and No Z’s in my address book, there was just not enough room for my A’s and A’s and B’s were together so my B’s would get lost in the A’s.  Now I can print as many A’s as I need!  3. When people move I can just simply print up a new page No more white out! 🙂 Or strike outs. 🙂  4. I now have a section for just birthdays! no more being a day late! 😉

So lets get started shall we?

First the FREEBIE I created!! 😀  Let’s get the files we need.  I have below links to download each of files you will need including a file with instructions on how to change colors and print the documents.  You don’t have to be a pro at word and I am here to answer any questions.

Address Book A to Z

Address Book Websites

Address Book Birthdays

Address Book document instructions

*note these documents were created from scratch by me!  Please do not claim them as your own.  If you use them in your own blog please provide proper credit and a link to my blog.  Please read my full disclaimer and copyright page. 🙂

Now that you have the documents downloaded lets get them printed up.

I wanted to make this as simple as possible.  If you are ok with the color they are then all you have to do is follow the instructions on changing the Letter and the Months.

Get your pages all printed out.

Here is a list of the materials you will need to do this project.

  1. all the printed pages from my documents
  2. 1″ binder
  3. Material of your choice
  4. A paper cutter with ruler
  5. cardstock
  6. 3 hole punch
  7. a page divider (this is just for measurements)
  8. clear tape
  9. ½” letter stickers
  10. hot glue gun and glue sticks
  11. box cutter
  12. hole punch reinforcement stickers

Sorry for the jumbled mess lol 🙂

First we will need to prepare the paper.

So on a nice large and clean work area get your cutter and print outs.  As seen in the photo below you are going to measure the left side of your page to 7 inches and cut.

Next turn the page so you are cutting on the opposite side line up to 6 inches and cut.  As seen below.

Do this with all of the printed pages.

Next we are going to punch the holes on the right side of the pages.

Your pages should look like this.

This is a great time to take a break.  Yes that took some time.  Unless you have one of the awesome cutters the schools have and where able to cut multiple pages at a time!  Sweet! Lucky you 😉

Next step we are going to start making the dividers.

take one of the dividers and line it up on a piece of card stock as seen in the photo below.  Use a pencil and mark a line down the card stock. This section should be ½” wide.

Now affix the uppercase letter A at the very top right of the card stock.  Using scissors make a horizontal cut under the A to the line you marked in the last step.  Using your cutter or scissors cut off the strip you marked.  If you use the cutter make note of the measurement for the cut this way you can just use that for the rest of the tabs instead of marking each piece.  Your alignment for it should be 8″ so you are cutting off a ½” strip.

Line your Letter A tab card stock up onto another piece of card stock and affix the Capitol letter B just below the A.  Cut horizontally on the top and bottom of the letter B ½” in close to the letter.

Cut off the strips as you did with the Letter A tab.

Depending on the size of your letters you should have Q at the very bottom when you get to that letter.  If not that is fine. Just continue the last steps until you get to the bottom.  Your next letter will be at the top of the next card stock page in my case it was the letter R. Continue on to Z.

Next using your lower case letters turned sideways stick the word “web” just under Z tab you just made.  Cut horizontally as you did for the letters and cut off the strips.  Do the same for birthdays.  I made my tab say “b~days”

Next step can be tricky.  We are going to cut the dividers to fit.  Turn the dividers so the tab is on the left side of the cutter and line up to the 6″ mark.  DO NOT measure the tab!  See the photo below for proper measurement.

Cut each divider then punch in the holes on the opposite side of the tabs.

Now we are going to move on to the binder.  So put all of your paper aside clean up your space so you have a nice clean area to work in again.

Take a break if needed and have a glass of wine or stretch 🙂

Open your binder and using your letter A piece of paper put it in the rings.  Use a pencil and mark the edge of the paper on the top and bottom on the right side onto the inside of the binder.  Measure from that to the right another ½” or so make a straight line and carefully cut off the end using your box cutters.  (you want to leave enough of the binder to cover the tabs when closed)

Close the binder and using the cut side as a guide cut the other side off of the binder.

Open your binder and lay it on the wrong side of your fabric.  Cut the fabric leaving about 2″ all the way around the binder.

fold in the 4 corners hot gluing them down trim the point off.

Run a bead of hot glue down the side from corner to corner and fold the edge in half. NOT over the binder yet!

this will make a nice clean edge.

Now run another bead of hot glue this time fold over the binder.

Do the same for all 4 sides making sure you pull the material taut so there are no wrinkles and it is nice and tight to the binder.

You can also spray glue the material to the binder if you like.

Make sure the edges are glued down good adding more hot glue if necessary.

Next step we are going to start filling our binder!

Before putting pages in put the reinforcement stickers on the front and back of your pages. These will help your pages last a long time. 🙂  You can put them on one side only if you like. Or not at all!  Remember the best part of this project is you make it your own!

I liked having the pockets inside so I left them. I sometimes get letters from people and I rip off their address and stick it in my address book so I can write it in later. lol I also sometimes like to keep important business cards in my address book and they usually fall out so I kept the pockets for this purpose! 😀

As you can see I only put my reinforcements on one side but I am going back to add them to the other side too because I have plenty left over!

Save any you have left for future use if you ever need to add pages to your address book!  They also come in handy when doing your own manicures.. but that is a totally different post! 😉

Here is my finished book!

As you can see I added an embroidered patch to the front of my book that says Addresses. You don’t have to do this or you can! It’s all customizable to you!

The final step is to put write in your addresses and enjoy your custom made address book!

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial and the freebie!

Till next time.. Keep it Crafty! 😉

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place To Learn and Grow

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

