Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Sweet 16 Invitations

on March 4, 2013

It has been a while since I’ve posted on the blog.  I have been so busy working on my spring cleaning amongst many other projects!  I did get the invitations done today! Woohoo!

My daughter and I went up to Party City to get invitations for her party.  When we got there we were very disappointed.  The selection was disappointingly small, and the prices were outrageous!  We found one Sweet 16 invitation and it was not in her colors.. it was of course frilly pink and poofy.  So we decided instead of paying $9.99 for 8 invitations we would head out to Joann Fabrics and check out paper and card stock.

To our surprise the scrapbook paper crafts were all 50% off!

So we grabbed:

a box of 36 A2 4.25″x5.5″ glitter cards $5

a package of white card stock $2

8 feet of decorative ribbon $2

Our supplies we used at home:

2 inch circle punch

paper cutter

scissors

glue tape (double sided sticky tape or dots etc.)

printer

I used this amazing ‘design and print online’ at Avery.com I absolutely love this!! It helped me for invites and decor at my sons grad party!

For these cards I used the 2″ circle template, avery product #22824

and for the inside of the card I used #18664

I made a  line design and used the gorgeous Bella Donna font (the site offers many options for fonts and creating)

I used the hole punch for the circles and the paper cutter to get a precise line for the inside of the cards.

This is what we came up with…

Outside of the cards. The ribbon was stuck on using glue tape and the circle was punched out using the circle punch then glue taped onto the ribbon.

 

And the inside we typed out the party info.  The Avery site also has this option to carry your design onto another template with the click of a button!  I know like I said AMAZING! 🙂

And there it is!

So these cards are frugal and creative. not to mention sentimental because they are created by us! Caitlin is so excited to hand these out to all her friends!

I added up our savings…

The invitations at Party City were $9.99 for a pack of 8. We would have needed a minimum of 3 packs.  And I say minimum because we always end up needing more for those we had a duh moment and forgotten about. Take no offense to these moments because it happens to everyone. 😉  But I am going to add up the total for 36 invites which is what we got from the craft store.  So we would have needed 4.5 packages and since we can’t just buy half the package we would have had to buy 5 packages and the other half would have gone to waste.

For our invitations we purchased supplies for at Joann Fabrics we got at 50% off.  We only needed the one box and a few other supplies.

 Party city invitations   $50.00

Our own invitations supplies purchased at Joanne Fabrics $9.00

a total savings of $41.00

We made our invites for $9.00  and actually less than that because we only used 23 of the cards and they are blank so the unused cards can be used for other things 🙂  I like that savings! Even if the supplies weren’t 50% off we would have paid $16.00 for 36 invites as opposed to $50.00.  So sale or not it was big savings!  And that makes me smile!  $41.00 is a lot of money these days. That is more than what it costs my daughter and I to have lunch at our favorite restaurant!

Joann Fabrics also has 50% off coupons and you can grab them from your phone and have it scanned right off of your phone at the register.  click here to check it out!

I hope you enjoyed the savings and creativity in this post!

Till next time… 😉

One response to “Sweet 16 Invitations

  1. […] I created a nice candy buffet in rainbow colors.  The birthday girls favorite candy is skittles.  We put another sign on the buffet table along with some bags and ties that had a little thank you card attached.  The candy buffet had skittles, the dum dum tree, marshmallow horns (unicorn horns), life savers, gummy bears, pixie stix, Twizzlers and gourmet marshmallow pops.  I used black and purple ribbon and circle tags that coordinate with the signs also made on avery.com as seen in this post for the sweet 16 invitations. […]

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place to Learn

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

