Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

Guest Signature Pillow

on February 12, 2013

While Caitlin and I were browsing Pinterest we came across this neat signature pillow.

She loved the idea and LOVES pillows so I decided I’d make her one in the colors of her party colors.  Which by the way as seen in the top photo she chose purple and black as her color theme for her party.  However we are still trying to decide on the sweets table because she’d love for that to be rainbow colors.  I am going to try and work that out. I have no clue how because such strong colors like purple and black are hard to blend with the rainbow.  I am giggling a little bit to myself now because if you read my previous post ‘My Sweet Little Lady’ I mentioned how I see my daughters personality and Ora.  I see her as a prism but not just the rainbow but the white and black as well.  She wants her color theme to be her favorite colors which are pretty dominant colors but also wants rainbow colors.  Any ideas on how I can play with this to make it work would be absolutely wonderful!! As always comments can be made by clicking that cute little heart on the top right of this post.

Anyway back to the pillow…

The materials I used are:

  • 1/2 yard of white medium weight cotton fabric. I just bought the cheapest fabric in the weight and color I needed I wasn’t looking for an expensive fabric. It is going to be written on.
  • Iron on transfer paper for your printer. I used white shirt transfer. I would prefer to use dark shirt transfer paper because I like the end result better. The dark shirt transfer paper is like a rubbery type paper and it’s white. It does require more steps but it can be printed normally. Whereas the white shirt transfer paper is clear and you have to print your design mirrored.  The white shirt transfer is what I had on hand.
  • A photo editing software. I used Adobe Photoshop Elements to create my design.
  • scissors
  • sewing machine
  • iron
  • printer

I created the design and printed it out.  For the pillow I just made a simple bolster pillow but before sewing it all together I ironed the design centered on my main pattern for the bolster.

I have also been wanting to create a tag for my sewing projects.  So while I was at my machine I set up my embroidery parts and whipped up this cute little – ish tag.  I used a scrap piece of muslin I had left over from my heart pillow project and embroidered a simple heart with my initials frayed the ends and it was done.  For a trial tag I thought it came out pretty good.  I want to experiment with paints and stamps too until I find my perfect tag design.

 

I’m feeling like I’m getting ahead with her party.  That is a good thing considering I always feel overwhelmed and am constantly running and freaking out the week of our parties making sure everything is done and everyone will be happy.  My goal is to have everything done and ready a week before so the week of I can worry about nothing but the food and baking. 🙂

Sorry for the horrible pictures.  My camera battery went dead so I had to use my ipod camera. YIKERS!!

 

One response to “Guest Signature Pillow

  1. […] Avery.com I made coordinating signs for each table.  On the gift table we placed a sign with the signature pillow I created a while back.  The guests were able to sign it when they placed gifts and cards on the […]

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

Sew for dough

Teaching you to sew for fun or profit

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

