Seamingly Crafty

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

The Road to Sweet 16

on February 7, 2013

tiara

A Sweet 16 party is a tradition celebrated mostly in The United States and Canada, it’s a party to mark a teenage girl’s transition to early adulthood.  For most girls, Sweet 16  is an important step in their lives and to some it’s comparable to their wedding day….

So here we are in our home just a couple short months away from our little girls Sweet 16!  I have been planning this day since I found out our baby is a girl!  My daughter has never been one for attention.  She used to get bad anxiety at parties, although for some time I thought having a Sweet 16 Party may not be happening, we have done a birthday party for her every year hoping the anxiety in crowds would pass.  In the last year I had been discussing this with her and I am super excited that she is as excited as I am to have the party(possibly, I think I might be a little more excited).  I unfortunately was dealing with a very big life changing event on my 16th birthday so there really was no time for such party for me.  I was planning my journey as a single teenage mother, but that is another story for another time.  I wonder if that is why every detail of my children’s teenage years must in my eyes be perfect. i.e. Homecoming, school sports, Prom, first date, graduations, college prep, sweet 16 etc.

Anyway,  I have been surfing the web the last few weeks gathering some information here and there..  Anyone that knows my daughter knows that fluffy pink sparkly things just wont suffice! She will exit the party or knowing her she’d turn it into a ‘burn all froofy pink stuff’ party.   I, of course would love nothing more than to book the best banquet hall and hire her favorite band “Bullet for my Valentine” but that’s just not in our budget.  I have come to the reality that my 16 years of planning this party wasn’t really much of planning, more dreaming 🙂  because I. am. not. ready for this.  Whilst surfing the interwebs I have found this is not going to be easy, I WILL no doubt be running around like a mad woman as I did for my sons high school grad party!  There is so much to be done!  There is so much tradition in a Sweet 16 party that I had no clue even existed!  The shoe ceremony, tiara ceremony, candle lighting!!! UGH! I will get through this 🙂 and because this is such an important day for my daughter this party isn’t going to be just another party.  I am dedicating an entire category to this eventful day!  I will share my journey and preparations and lets not forget the crafty things I do to prepare along the way, and I’m sure some tears as well!  The first step on our road to Sweet 16 is a list!

Sweet 16 preparation list

  1. Date
  2. venue
  3. guests
  4. save the dates
  5. invitations
  6. theme
  7. food
  8. entertainment
  9. party favors
  10. candle lighting ceremony
  11. shoe ceremony
  12. tiara ceremony
  13. cake
  14. decorations
  15. video montage
  16. photo booth?

So many ideas… I think I need to get to pinterest 😉

My next post will be an introduction of the girl of the hour!  I will hopefully by then also have some ideas to share and a date picked out.  Tomorrow is a good day to start some planning because she has a four day weekend! (Thanks Abe!)  So until then….

3 responses to “The Road to Sweet 16

  1. […] to our dollar store and grabbed some supplies for a project I’m going to be working on for the Sweet 16 party!  The tutorial for this will hopefully be posted this […]

  2. Oh I’m sure I have plenty of ideas 🙂 we’ve been talking all day about it and going over colors and stuff. 🙂

  3. tammie says:

    well save some for her graduation party… to much now and you wont know what to do for then 🙂

Leave a Reply

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

The Sewing Garden

A Place To Learn and Grow

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

paintedposies

creating, growing, planning, living and capturing a well-crafted life

Life With my Kids

My experiences as a wife and mother, homeschooling, and caring for a family. Health, nutrition, and natural living.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

One Tree Photography

Sew, craft, cook, and more!

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Winter Owls

Owls, art and life

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

